Skip to Content Skip to Footer
CIMS Student Awards banner image

CIMS Student Awards

Financing your education is a big investment. 

Let us help you begin your journey here at Clayton State with our financial aid offerings. There are a number of awards and scholarships available to College of Information and Mathematical Sciences students.

College of Information and Mathematical Sciences Scholarships

The Catherine Cowan Aust Award

The Catherine Cowan Aust Award, established in 2006 in honor of the founding dean of the College of Information and Mathematical Sciences, recognizes the best all around performance of a graduating student in CIMS. Awarded annually, the recipient is honored with a certificate, plaque and cash award. In addition, the student's name will be placed on a perpetual plaque displayed in the CIMS office.

Candidates for the award will have a minimum 3.5 GPA in all their CIMS courses and a minimum 3.0 overall GPA. They must be scheduled to graduate within the calendar year and be nominated by a faculty member. The Aust Award is presented during the CIMS student award ceremony in the spring of each academic year. This student award is not for educational expenses. The award funds are delivered directly to the student.

Chancellor Academic Recognition--CIMS Nominee

Each year the University System of Georgia Board of Regents recognizes exceptional academic achievement and engagement of one student from each of the University System campuses. At Clayton State, each of the colleges nominate students who meet the criteria of the award. After the nominations have been received, the nominees are interviewed by the academic deans who make the selection of the Clayton State representative. The CIMS nominee is recognized with a certificate at the annual student award ceremony.

CIMS Award for Outstanding Community Engagement

We often recognize students who have achieved exceptional distinction in their engagement on campus and in the community. In years when such a student is identified, the recipient of the award is selected by the Dean of the CIMS. The student is recognized at the annual CIMS award ceremony with a certificate and a monetary award. This student award is not for educational expenses. The award funds are delivered directly to the student.

Awards in the Department of Computer Science and Information Technology

Pending availability of funds, these awards provide small monetary awards. These student awards are not for educational expenses. The award funds are delivered directly to the students.

  • Bachelor of Computer Science Outstanding Scholar
  • Bachelor of Information Technology Outstanding Scholar
  • Outstanding Performance-Major Field Test-This award is presented when a student had exceptionally meritorious performance on the Major Field Test in Computer Science.

Awards in the Department of Mathematics

Annita Hunt Award

Students must have been granted admission to the Middle Grades Education with Math Concentration or Secondary Education Mathematics Program. Applicants must have a minimum overall GPA of 3.0 with a minimum GPA of 3.5 in all mathematics courses numbered MATH 1111 and above. The student must have successfully completed at least one mathematics course at the 3000 level or above at Clayton State.

This student award is not for educational expenses. The award funds are delivered directly to the student.

Billie R. Nail Mathematics Award

This endowed scholarship was established to honor former dean and department chair Dr. Nail, this award is given each spring to a student currently enrolled at Clayton State. The recipient must demonstrate exemplary performance in their lower-division undergraduate mathematics courses taken at Clayton State. To be eligible for the award, a student must have taken at least three of the five bulleted courses listed here: MATH 1112 or MATH 1113; MATH 1501; MATH 2140; MATH 2502; MATH 2503. The student must have completed the requirements of this award during the calendar year preceding the semester in which the award is given. For example, the 2019 award will be given to a student who completes their third of the eligible courses in 2018.

Preference may be given to students who have taken and completed more than the minimum requirements for the award. Faculty in the Department of Mathematics nominate and select the recipient based on the student's performance in the courses. This student award is not for educational expenses. The award funds are delivered directly to the student.

Rising Senior Award

Eligible students for the Rising Senior Award are those who have completed at least 73 credit hours, have taken (or are currently taking) MATH 3005, and have not yet taken the Senior Capstone course. Students who have previously received the Rising Senior Award are not eligible to receive it a second time. Students will receive a certificate and will be recognized at the annual CIMS student award ceremony.

Endowed Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded each year to a student who meets the requirements for the award.

Billy R. Nail Mathematics Scholarship

This scholarship was established in honor and memory of Dr. Billy R. Nail, who taught mathematics at Clayton State for many years. The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student in mathematics. Both undergraduate and graduate students are eligible, but preference will be given to students in the Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program in Mathematics.

The Richard Pearce-Moses and Frank Loulan Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is a perpetual fund created to provide scholarships for students majoring in Archival Studies who have demonstrated exceptional academic achievement. Achievement does not have to be based exclusively on GPA. The student should be in good standing. Preference will be given to students not receiving tuition support from other sources. The funds may be used for tuition, fees, research or travel as relates to their academic studies.

Richard Pearce-Moses, Fellow of the Society of American Archivist and a Certified Archivist, served as the founding director of the Master of Archival Studies Program at Clayton State. Internationally recognized for his expertise in digital archives, he has received numerous awards from professional organizations such as the Library of Congress, American Library Association, and Society of American Archivists. Richard is married to Frank Loulan, who worked for the Southern Pacific Railroad and Union Pacific Railroad, and whose support for Richard’s work in the archives profession was recognized in 2006 by the Society of American Archivists. Members of the Clayton State University Legacy Society, Richard and Frank provide generous support to the University. Recipients are selected by the Master of Archival Studies Graduate Program director and funds are administered through the Office of Financial Aid.

Annual Scholarships

There are other annual scholarships that are available to students majoring in a program in CIMS. Eligible students for these scholarships are selected, and scholarships administered through the Office of Financial Aid. Examples of these scholarships are:

  • Lane-Dobbs Annual Scholarship
  • MailChimp Scholarships
  • Coca-Cola Scholarships